Race Recapping Like Mad!

Life is busy, that’s nothing new. I’ve managed to run a few races and although I’ve re-run (see what I did there) them in my head I helps me to have them “on paper”.

July 4th, 2016- Firecracker 5K in Fort Collins
This has always been a decently tough field for a local race because it offers some pretty good prize $. I didn’t really know what to expect from myself other than hopefully pulling out a PR. I did, so I was happy with that (18:13) but my 6th place finish was disappointing. If there were such a thing I would have been an age group winner 🙂

screen-shot-2016-09-09-at-1-54-50-pm

 

August 23rd, 2016- Mountain Ave. Mile
This was totally out of my comfort zone. I woke up Tuesday morning of race day trying to decide on a workout and pulled this race ad up on good ol’ Facebook. (Sometimes I stalk the Tuesday Night Track Club in FoCo). My husband and boys cheered me on to 2nd place with a 5:11 PR. It was fun, I hacked up my lungs for a few days after, but I’ll probably do it again.

img_3866

 

September 5th, 2016- Labor Day! Lot’s of races to choose from! My brother-in-law is also a runner and is the race director every year for “Kids for Kyla” in Greeley, CO so this is the race I chose (another 5k, hoping to better my PR). It ended up being a little too hot for a PR day but it was still a great event and I snagged a win which has gotten me through my last few couple of tough workouts. Added bonus: my sisters were in town for the holiday weekend and I was lucky enough to get to race with Sharon again. The altitude welcomed her with open arms (she is from KS) but she still rolled in 2nd. I won’t lie, it felt good to beat her after she spanked me at Prairie Fire Half Marathon last year. Read about that here.

screen-shot-2016-09-09-at-2-06-29-pm

Another added bonus (best one yet!) Owen and Ansel love to run and they enjoyed the kids race. My sister Monica was stellar in capturing this photo of them “flexing” before their 1/2 mile race. Yeah, they’re pretty intimidating.

screen-shot-2016-09-09-at-2-11-56-pm

I always learn something after I’ve written a blog entry, usually something insightful about myself. Today I learned that I need to wear different clothes when I race. Apparently I’ve deemed those shorts and that sports bra my “lucky” run gear and didn’t even know it.

 

Leave a comment