The Key to ZERO Pre-race Nerves

With a little over a month between races I needed something to fill my love for a good race day environment without actually competing. The answer: Pacing. I just found a new time-consuming, unprofitable hobby that I love, so my husband should be thrilled. 🙂

My first race that I paced was the Colorado Half Marathon and I ran with the 1:50 group. It was such a great experience! At the end there were so many people who were kind enough to let me know how helpful it was to have someone else keeping track of splits. It took the mental work out of the run and they were able to just focus on racing the best they could.

IMG_3126

I know there is a ton of work that goes into putting on running events and it felt great to be contributing to something I love.

Yesterday I got to pace for the Colfax Half Marathon in Denver so we added a little family fun to the adventure. We stayed with our good friends, Drew and Cindy, and their cat, Rory. Owen and Ansel love cats so that was all they really needed to make the trip worth it.

Cindy has a polaroid so we were pumped our whole family got put on the “guest wall of fame” in their casa.

IMG_3223

IMG_3220

The Colfax did not disappoint. Well organized, plenty of aid stations, cheering bystanders, and a BBQ lunch post-race. So many things to love. If I had to pick my favorite part about pacing though? ZERO pre-race nerves.

One thought on “The Key to ZERO Pre-race Nerves

Leave a comment