My Decade in Running

My thoughts on running in 2010:

  • 6 miles is a long run
  • Running 3 times a week is really consistent training
  • We got engaged, let’s celebrate by running a marathon!
  • Surf City Marathon chewed me up and spit me out. My fiance and I crossed the line in 3:59:59 after stopping many times, walking, and eating pb and j’s.

2011:

  • 30 miles per week and one long run of 20 miles is great marathon training.
  • Phoenix Marathon saw me in at 3:15 and once again humbled the heck out of me.
  • I love running, I want to see what I can do with more training, this has Lit. A. Fire.

Two weeks later:

  • I’m pregnant, I’ll never run again (I tried, it didn’t last long. Big baby)
    PregowOwen

2012:

  • I may never get a full nights sleep again, forget being able to run
  • I can sneak in a couple of miles here and there, this is fun!
  • Jogging strollers might be the devil but they also are life-savers.

    IMG_7559 (1)
    My sister and our littlest guys when they were still squishy.

2013:

  • This is more important for my mental health than my physical health.
  • I’m so happy about adding another baby to our family, running is going to have to go on the back burner again.

2014:

  • I work full-time, I have a newborn and a toddler-child, what is running?

2015

  • This is happening, I want to start training.
  • My sister is going to try and qualify for the Olympic Trials, what is this all about?!?
  • I run Prairie Fire 1/2 marathon and get 3rd in 1:24:11. My sister nips me at the line and I decide I will train even harder and never let that happen again. 🙂
  • I meet up with a high school friend who I ran XC with and she suggests starting a blog to document my training and progress.

    Prairie Fire Marathon
    2nd and 3rd finish for my sister and I in the half marathon

2016

  • Transitioning to working for myself and freeing up loads of time is the best choice I ever made.
  • My back/shoulder muscles are SICK from all this stroller pushing!
  • Local races are fun, I want to run them all!
  • Also, I’m going to try this marathon thing again.

2017

  • March- LA Marathon- 2:55:41- and it sucked, and it hurt, and I LOVED it.
  • What is a BQ?
  • This kind of boundary pushing of physical and mental limitations makes me feel alive
  • I might not be the most talented, but I will work the hardest! And luckily for me, smart as well because my husband is coaching me 🙂
  • 75 mile weeks are shaping up!
  • December- California International Marathon- 2:44:51 my first OTQ – I honestly still get choked up and can feel those finish line thrills. These are the moments we live for.
     

2018

  • I have to make myself and my boys proud, I will train to run the best race of my life in 2020!
  • So many local races, my first time competing at USATF nationals- I’m hooked.
  • 100 mile weeks are a must- (I only actually hit that one time)
  • December- California International Marathon- 2:37:49

2019

  • I have all the goals!!
  • March- LA Marathon- During this race I injure my hip and finish in 2:41
  • Race after race that I have lined up are not going as planned. My hip injury lingers, I try to push through, its a vicious cycle.
  • After an easy summer, I get back into training and its better than ever.
  • Chicago Marathon- 2:42- I can’t even write about this race, I’m so disappointed. I know there are worse things and that everything is about perspective but I decide that as a human I have a right to feel the way I feel. I would love to redeem myself.
  • This year running did not go as planned, but that’s okay! Life is good, my friends and family love me.
    Fortitude2019

2020:

TBD! This winter has been a sh*t show and I might be more prepared for the Winter Games than I am for a marathon. But as I wrap this up and get ready to head out the door for my double, I couldn’t be more grateful for all the things running has brought me and the unknown of it all. No matter how many good or bad races there are, this sport brings out an important part of me and I will embrace it all.

 

Leave a comment